The Dead

Written by James, Kiki, Faith, Cara and Lewis

poster-poppy-flypast-231489

The grey smokey sky, descending upon the soldiers,

sitting there waiting for action,

my whole body paralysed by the bitter cold wind,

surrounded by blood and dead bodies,

my stomach lurched with shock and starvation,

my face was shadowed with grief and misery,

longing for the war to end,

gun fire raced and roared over my head,

toxic gas infused the air,

I could feel my lungs gasping for oxygen,

sudden pain shot through the leg,

warm red blood oozing from the wound,

my life was coming to a end,

remember us for who we were,

we fought for peace and an end to war,

poppies grew where we fell,

wear yours with pride.

Leave a Reply

